ARC Reviews


The Pawn (The King's Cousins #1) by Alexa Aston. Historical Romance Release & ARC Review.

Add To

The three young children of Adelard de Blays—two sons and a daughter—are separated when their father commits treason against the King of England. Follow each of their stories in The King’s Cousins, a new trilogy by bestselling author Alexa Aston. 

1338 A.D. – Exiled to a convent after her father’s execution for treason, Katelyn de Blays has fleeting memories of the man she adored and the outside world. When her brother’s search leads him to finding Katelyn after many years, she is eager to leave with Landon and begin a new life. He brings her to the court of her cousin, Edward III, who betroths Katelyn to a powerful earl of Northumberland, using her as a political pawn to show his continued support of his northern noblemen.

When Sir Nicholas Mandeville returns from patrolling his family’s lands along the Scottish border, he discovers his father has died—and left a widow—whom his uncle wed Nicholas to by proxy during his absence. Angry at becoming the Earl of Northmere and having no choice regarding his wife, Nicholas vows to leave the widow untouched until he knows whether or not she carries his father’s child. 

As time passes and Nicholas loses his heart to this brave, young woman, he is astonished to learn Katelyn wishes for their union to be annulled. Can he convince Kate to remain wed to him—or will Nicholas sacrifice his own happiness and let the enigmatic beauty go?

Each book in The King’s Cousins Trilogy is a standalone story that can be enjoyed out of order.

Series Order:
Book #1: The Pawn
Book #2: The Heir
Book #3: The Bastard


Katelyn De Blays has spent most of her life in a convent.  Hidden there until someone decided they could make use of her and her familial connections.  That usefulness will continue even after her longed for release from the convent confines. 
Sir Nicholas Mandeville is the heir to a very important border stronghold.  His life is about to change far beyond his expectations. He will not know who to trust. 
Sometimes family can be the ones that let you down,  and strangers support you. 
Our heroine is a lot more independent and brave than one would expect from her past life.  Our hero had a relatively normal life learning to be a warrior and everything needed to take his rightful place. 
These are fascinating characters with lots to share with us.  They face danger and discover the best things in life. 
This is the start of a series that we are teased with at the start of thus book,  but this can be read on its own. 
What will happen to our heroine's brothers? 
I will be waiting eagerly to find out.
I loved it.


Alexa Aston’s historical romances use history as a backdrop to place her characters in extraordinary circumstances, where their intense desire for one another grows into the treasured gift of love.

She is the author of The Knights of Honor, a medieval romance series that takes place in 14th century England during the reign of Edward III and centers on the de Montfort family. Each romance focuses on the code of chivalry that bound knights of this era.

A native Texan, Alexa lives with her husband in a Dallas suburb, where she eats her fair share of dark chocolate and plots out stories while she walks every morning. She enjoys reading, watching movies, and can’t get enough of Fixer Upper or Game of Thrones. Alexa also writes romantic suspense, western historical, and standalone medieval novels as Lauren Linwood. 

Connect with Alexa:
 Website * Goodreads * Facebook * Twitter

No comments:

Post a Comment

I hope you all enjoy the books I post about here.