ARC Reviews


The Heir (The King's Cousins #2) by Alexa Aston. Historical Romance Release & ARC Review.

Add To

The three young children of Adelard de Blays—two sons and a daughter—are separated when their father commits treason against the King of England. Follow each of their stories in The King’s Cousins, a new trilogy by Alexa Aston. 

1340 A.D. – After his treasonous father’s execution, Landon de Blays is raised alongside his cousin, the future King Edward III. Landon constantly fights to prove his own loyalty to the crown and becomes England’s youngest knight. Rewarded for bravery in battle, the king gifts Landon with a title and estate, something he’s longed for over the years as much as restoring his family’s good name.

Cassiana Campion raises five brothers and nurses her ill father while managing Briarwood, her family’s estate. When her father succumbs to old battle wounds and she receives news her last surviving brother has been killed in battle, Cassiana has nowhere to turn—until Landon de Blays arrives with a missive naming him the new Earl of Briargate—and Cassie’s bridegroom.

The couple fall in love but are torn apart by circumstances beyond their control before their wedding can take place. Landon can live without an earldom and Briarwood but he can’t conceive of a life without Cassiana. Will Landon unlock the secrets that can bring them back together?

Each book in The King’s Cousins Trilogy is a standalone story that can be enjoyed out of order.

Series Order:
Book #1: The Pawn
Book #2: The Heir
Book #3: The Bastard


Sir Landon De Blays is the son of a traitor.  Luckily for him he was given as a child to the then Prince now King Edward . He has spent his whole life proving that he is an honourable and trust worthy man.  As a favourite of the King and one of his personal guard,  Sir Landon will accompany him to this latest battle with France. 
Lady Cassiana Campion is the eldest of the Earl of Briargate's children.  She has watched the deaths of most of her many siblings.  Only her young brother is left.  Her ailing father can no longer run the estate so it falls to her to keep things running smoothly.  When her brother is leaving to join the King in this latest battle with France,  she knows he will soon be the new Earl and will take over the control of the estate from her. 
The new Earl of Briargate will soon be taking over control of the estate . Will he be able to make it a happy transition for all the people involved,  or will there be more battles to fight??
A marvelous story full of great characters. Our author always gives us a very good insight into the lives of her characters and the times they lived in.  This is part of a series.  You could easily read this on it's own but if you want to read the full series it would be best read in order. 
I have loved both books so far and can't wait to read the next. 


Alexa Aston’s historical romances use history as a backdrop to place her characters in extraordinary circumstances, where their intense desire for one another grows into the treasured gift of love.

She is the author of The Knights of Honor, a medieval romance series that takes place in 14th century England during the reign of Edward III and centers on the de Montfort family. Each romance focuses on the code of chivalry that bound knights of this era.

A native Texan, Alexa lives with her husband in a Dallas suburb, where she eats her fair share of dark chocolate and plots out stories while she walks every morning. She enjoys reading, watching movies, and can’t get enough of Fixer Upper or Game of Thrones. Alexa also writes romantic suspense, western historical, and standalone medieval novels as Lauren Linwood. 

Connect with Alexa:
 Website * Goodreads * Facebook * Twitter

No comments:

Post a Comment

I hope you all enjoy the books I post about here.