ARC Reviews


Midnight with the Marquess (The St. Clairs #2) by Alexa Aston. Historical Romance Release & ARC Review.

Add To

Can love heal a wounded army officer who doesn’t believe it exists? 

Lady Rachel St. Clair has witnessed how powerful love can be, thanks to the example her brother and wife set, and she won’t settle for anything less. At a house party, Rachel meets an officer returning from the Peninsular War and believes she may have found love, thanks to their clandestine midnight lessons in kissing. 

Major Evan Drake, Marquess of Merrick, witnessed his father murder his mother and believes love doesn’t exist. He’s returned from combat wounded in both body and soul. When he meets Rachel he changes his mind about love, drawn to the raven-haired beauty’s spirit. Yet Rachel devastates him by rejecting him before he can declare his feelings for her, sending Evan into a downward spiral that almost ends in death. 

Nursing her broken heart, Rachel continues her search for love the next Season, though her thoughts linger on those midnights with her marquess. 

Will Evan be able to regain Rachel’s trust—and open his heart to love? 

Find the answer in bestselling author Alexa Aston’s second book of The St. Clairs, Midnight with the Marquess. 

Each book in The St. Clairs Trilogy is a standalone story that can be enjoyed out of order. 

Series Order: 
Book #1 Devoted to the Duke 
Book #2 Midnight with the Marquess 
Book #3 Embracing the Earl 


Major Evan Drake,  the Marquess if Merrick has come home from the war with no idea what to do with his life now.  He has been estranged from his father since his mother's death,  and wants nothing to do with him.  Luckily he has an estate of his own very close to his bestfriend.  His friend will help him settle back into life in England,  he hopes. 
Lady Rachel St. Clair has had her sister marry a Duke for love,  and now her bestfriend is marrying the love of her life as well.  All Rachel wants to do is find a man she can love and who loves her.  The season so far has not held any man that interests her,  and it's nearly over. 
Our hero thinks he is fine,  but is carrying more emotional baggage than he knows.  He has a difficult road ahead.  Our heroine knows exactly what she wants and will style for nothing less. 
A lovely romantic story with great characters,  who bring us the highs and lows of love. 
A thoroughly enjoyable read that is part of a series.  Each book can be read on it's own. 
Loved it. 


Alexa Aston’s historical romances use history as a backdrop to place her characters in extraordinary circumstances, where their intense desire for one another grows into the treasured gift of love.

She is the author of The Knights of Honor, a medieval romance series that takes place in 14th century England during the reign of Edward III and centers on the de Montfort family. Each romance focuses on the code of chivalry that bound knights of this era.

A native Texan, Alexa lives with her husband in a Dallas suburb, where she eats her fair share of dark chocolate and plots out stories while she walks every morning. She enjoys reading, watching movies, and can’t get enough of Fixer Upper or Game of Thrones. Alexa also writes romantic suspense, western historical, and standalone medieval novels as Lauren Linwood. 

Connect with Alexa:
 Website * Goodreads * Facebook * Twitter

No comments:

Post a Comment

I hope you all enjoy the books I post about here.