ARC Reviews


Duke of Sorrow (Dukes of Destiny #2) by Whitney Blake,. Historical Romance Release & ARC Review.

Add To

A disfigured duke and a mysterious woman discover that love is where you least expect to find it... 

Get Book Two in the bestselling Dukes of Destiny series - read for FREE in Kindle Unlimited! 

Lord William Ainsworth, Duke of Ravenwood, never expected to be his family’s heir. A youngest son, he happily undertakes a doctor’s education. But when his brothers pass unexpectedly and their father follows, Will finds himself thrust into a role he doesn’t want. Nonetheless, dutiful and serious, he assumes the title just before serving as a military doctor abroad in Spain. 

Will does not return home unscathed. While trying to reach a wounded man, an explosion leaves his face disfigured and sight impaired. This leads to a rejection from his fiancée, who breaks their engagement. Mortified and scared, Will refuses to reenter the ton and isolates himself with just his widowed Aunt Jane for company. Because of his misfortune, locals start to call him the “Duke of Sorrow”—a dubious gesture of sympathy. 

One night, while taking their customary walk through the village on his estate, Will and Jane stumble upon an injured young woman. With his old instinct to heal overriding his desire to remain solitary, Will decides to bring her back to his manor so that she can recover. 

There’s just one problem—she won’t tell either of them who she is. Jane accepts this more readily than Will, who grows increasingly frustrated and besotted with the stranger. At a loss, he christens her “Miss Brooke”, a reference to the brookside where they originally found her. In truth, Miss Brooke is Miss Augusta Copperweld. 

And Augusta is determined never to return to her abusive, drunk father. 

Together, Jane and Will try to solve the mystery of the spirited Miss Brooke. Augusta is reluctant to divulge her true identity, but Jane has a hunch that these two souls are meant to make each other whole. 

Can Augusta help Will return to himself and relinquish his fears? Is he going to regain his courage and kindness? 

Dukes Of Destiny Series 
Book 1 - Duke of Havoc 
Book 2 - Duke of Sorrow 
Book 3 - Duke of Disgrace 


William Ainsworth was the youngest of three sons,  so the only responsibilities he had was to himself. He decided to study to be a doctor.  He never expected that  his brothers and both his parents would die, and leave him as the new Duke of Ravenswood.  Now he has returned home from the war badly wounded and scarred forever.  He has always been the quiet type,  now he is reclusive.
Augusta Copperweld is the abused daughter of the town drunk.  Her one thought was to run before she is killed.  She didn't get far. 
This is a sweet, emotional story of two damaged people learning to live again.  Lovely characters and a little humour. 
An enjoyable read. 


Whitney is a bit of a wanderer and something of a bluestocking. She's been telling stories since childhood, when she would rewrite the endings of her favorite books and movies (or add "deleted scenes" to them). When she's not writing or reading, she enjoys cooking, dancing, and going for long walks with no specific destination in mind.

Literary work comes naturally to Whitney and she's very excited to be pursuing her passion - rich story lines, vibrant characters, and most of all, a happily ever after.

No comments:

Post a Comment

I hope you all enjoy the books I post about here.