ARC Reviews


Spyfall (The King's Rogues #2) by Elizabeth Ellen Carter. Historical Romance Release & ARC Review.

Add To

A dangerous love - who will be first to fall? 

Book 2 in "The King's Rogues" Regency Historical Romance Series is now available. Read for FREE in Kindle Unlimited! 

Cornwall, 1805 

Rescued from a French prison by a mysterious benefactor, smuggler Nathaniel “Nate” Payne returns home to Cornwall a nearly broken man. He hopes to recover at his old haunt, but The Queen’s Head Inn has a new owner. 

Susannah Linwood is a young widow with a dark secret fleeing a brutal past. She has made an honest success of the inn and intends to keep it that way, and not fall in with the likes of Nate. Even so, their mutual attraction is hard to deny. But Nate’s former lover, the local magistrate’s wife, schemes to uncover Susannah’s secrets. 

To ease his conscience at surviving when so many did not, Nate writes to the family of a fellow English prisoner, not realizing it is a coded message for The King’s Rogues that brings Lieutenant Adam Hardacre to The Queen’s Head. While Hardacre recruits Nate into The King’s Rogues, Susannah learns a figure from her past is threatening blackmail, and worse, over the circumstances of her husband’s death. 

Persuaded to return to France to evacuate stranded English agents, Nate realizes there may be a more pressing rescue mission at home with Susannah’s very life at stake. 

The King's Rogues 
Book 1 - Live and Let Spy 
Book 2 - Spyfall 
Book 3 - Spy Another Day 
Book 4 - From the Duke with Love 
Book 5 - Father's Day (Christmas Novella) 


Mrs Susannah Moorcroft is making a new life for herself after the death of her abusive husband.  She and her friend have decided to run an inn on the coast.  What she doesn't know is all the types of business the previous owner was involved with.  Just when she settles into a happy life the past will come back to bite her.
Smuggler Nate Payne has been in a French prison for months,  no knowing which of his contacts caused him to be captured.  When he eventually makes his way home everything has changed. 
There is a lot of danger for our characters in this story. England is at war with France and criminals and spies for both sides are everywhere.  Great risks reap great rewards for those brave enough to take them.  A very exciting adventure.
This is part of a series so you will meet characters from the other books,  but each book can be read alone.  I can highly recommend all of them.


Elizabeth Ellen Carter writes richly detailed historical romantic adventures. Her full length 3 book Regency era series Heart Of The Corsairs is released in 2017 and 2018 - Captive Of The Corsairs (July 2017), Revenge Of The Corsairs (November 2017) and Shadow Of The Corsairs (early 2018). Her other full length titles include the Roman era thriller Dark Heart, the medieval romantic adventure Warrior's Surrender, and the Regency titles Moonstone Obsession and Moonstone Conspiracy. Also available are the novellas Nocturne and The Thief Of Hearts.

A former newspaper journalist, Carter ran an award-winning PR agency for 12 years.

No comments:

Post a Comment

I hope you all enjoy the books I post about here.