ARC Reviews


The Mackenzie Regent (The Sinclair Jewels #2) by Caroline Lee. Historical Romance Release & ARC Review.

Add To

Four years ago, Jamie Mackenzie lost everything - the woman he loved, the use of his hands, and his honor. 

Book 2 in the Mysterious "Sinclair Jewels" series is now available! Read for Free with Kindle Unlimited! 

Alcohol became the only thing which offered solace to Jamie and he was satisfied to drink himself into an early grave… until his older brother died, leaving his clan without a leader, and his young nephew Callan without a regent. Reluctantly, Jamie steps into the role, little realizing it would include a marriage contract. 

Her mission is returning her clan’s honor. 

A year ago, Agata, the oldest of the Sinclair jewels, thought herself satisfied. She was married to a cruel man, but at least he—as the Mackenzie laird—had given her a precious stepson Callan and hope for future children. Now widowed and returned to her clan, Agata has given up on her dream of a family until she finds a new mission with her sisters: finding and restoring the ancient Sinclair jewels. 

Stolen generations ago from the brooch which marked the Sinclair lairds’ power, these jewels are more myth than reality, even to the Sinclair sisters who were named after the stones. When they find evidence the stones are hidden in the Mackenzie holding, Agata jumps at the chance to see little Callan again. But her mission conflicts with her personal dream when she discovers she's been contracted to marry the lad’s drunken uncle. 

Is Jamie as cruel as his brother? Can Agata help him overcome his dependence on ale and learn to see himself as strong and capable…or will he spend the rest of his life focusing on what he lost? 

And where exactly are the missing Sinclair jewels? 

The Sinclair Jewels 
Book 1 - The Sinclair Hound 
Book 2 - The Mackenzie Regent 
Book 3 - The Sutherland Devil 
Book 4 - The MacLeod Pirate 


Agata Sinclair is one of four sisters known to their clan as the Highland jewels.  Each named after a stone in the long missing family heirloom.  Legend has it that they have to find the actual jewels to save the clan. 
The new marriage her father has arranged for her is one she is looking forward to for many reasons.  It doesn't quite start the way she would hope. 
Jamie MacKenzie is the uncle to the young clan chief,  so should act on his behalf until he comes of age.  Unfortunately for the clan Jamie is carrying demons from the past ,and drowning himself in drink. 
This is a fun Highland adventure with very strong family values. Our heroine is a strong and loving woman, determined to save all her loved ones. 
While each book in this series can be read alone, the series is best read in order. 
Good fun. 


USA Today bestselling author Caroline Lee has been reading romance for so long that her fourth-grade teacher used to make her cover her books with paper jackets. But it wasn’t until she (mostly) grew up that she realized she could WRITE it too. So she did.
Caroline is living her own little Happily Ever After in NC with her husband, sons, and brand-new daughter, Princess Wiggles. And while she doesn’t so much “suffer” from Pittakionophobia as think all you people who enjoy touching Band-Aids and stickers are the real weirdos, she does adore rodents, and never met a wine she didn’t like. Caroline was named Time Magazine’s Person of the Year in 2006 (along with the rest of you) and is really quite funny in person. Promise.

Website * Facebook * BookBub

No comments:

Post a Comment

I hope you all enjoy the books I post about here.