ARC Reviews


Reluctant Brides (4 Books) by Elizabeth Rose. Historical Romance. My Review.

Add To

This is a boxed set of four full-length medieval novels from four of Elizabeth's series with reluctant brides. 

This set includes: 

Lord of Illusion - Book 3 

(Legacy of the Blade Series) 

Wanting to live a different life, Lady Abigail uses a robbery on the road as an excuse to escape her guards who are taking her to marry a man she hates. Madac ap Powell is a thief, who uses his disguises to his advantage, trying to support his mother and brother. Although he hates the life he lives, he finds a young lady in the woods who hates her life even more. Can a lady and a thief help each other realize exactly what they are running from? 

Ruby - Book 1 

(Daughters of the Dagger Series) 

Ruby de Burgh is furious when her father promises her hand in marriage to the Lord of Death, Nyle Sheffield. The man's last three wives have died and rumor has it, he's killed them. Lord Nyle Sheffield is on a mission from the king, and at the same time trying to flesh out the murderer of his late wives. So when he finds Ruby who is skilled with a sword and also able to protect herself, he makes a betrothal so he can use her as a pawn to draw out the killer. 

The Baron's Bounty - Book 2 

(Barons of the Cinque Ports Series) 

The Scottish lassie, Isobel MacEwen, is sent as a proxy to marry the English lord, Conlin de Braose in her cousin's stead. But before she leaves, she is witness to the Scottish king's murder - but has only seen the shoes of the killer. Isobel is infatuated with shoes and has learned to identify people by their shoes and the way they walk. Lord Conlin de Braose is a widower, and also a Baron of the Cinque Ports. It's important to him to make an alliance with the Scots, as well as to secure a mother for his young daughter. But when he finds himself falling in love with a proxy, his life is turned upside down. 

Ian - Book 3 

(MadMan MacKeefe Series) 

Kyla has grown up alongside her older brother, always having eyes for Ian - her brother's best friend. But Ian thinks of her as a pest and the furthest thing from a romantic partner. Ian is troubled by his secret, dark past. When he sees a face in the Samhain fire of an enemy he killed, he has no idea the dead will come back to life. And while he's worried about confronting an enemy again, what troubles him more is that his best friend's sister is in love with him - and now she's to be married off to his enemy to make an alliance with the clan. Will Ian's tarnished past come back to haunt him, exposing his secrets and taking from him a woman who holds a special place in his heart? 


Lord Of Illusion


Lady Abigail Blackmore is on the way to marry a man she hates.  She is determined to escape that fate.  Our heroine is a little selfish at the start of our story.  She has a lot of growing up to do before her wedding. 
Madoc ap Powell has always been a thief.  He did work with a gang for a short while but didn't agree with their methods, so now he is on his own.   He also keeps pigeons for messages and hopes to race them.  Our hero likes to use disguises and illusions.  That will come in very handy with the problems he us about to face.  His family have been keeping a very big secret from him. 
Lots of danger,  but also lots of giggles.  Wonderful characters that we will meet again. 
This is part of a series but can easily read alone.  It does link in with the others but not enough to spoil them if you haven't read them yet.  I will make sure I go and read them.  I loved it. 



Lady Ruby de Burgh is the oldest of Lord Blackpool's four daughters.  She is happiest when she is training with her weapons.  Her father has never made her do all the things a lady is supposed to do.  So when he introduces someone who has come to choose a bride she knows it won't be her.
Lord Nyle Dacre of Sheffield must have a bride quickly if he is to take on a very special task for the King.  His problem is someone has already murdered three women he married.  He needs to find one who will not be afraid.
Although this story has lots of danger in the unlikeliest places it is very funny.  Our heroine can cause problems without even trying.  Our poor hero needs eyes everywhere.
This is the first in a marvellous series.  I'm sure you will want to read all if them.  I loved it.

The Baron´s Bounty


Lady Isobel MacEwen has a terrible weakness,  shoes.  Her cousin uses that weakness to get Isobel to do all sorts of things she shouldn't,  Like meeting her betrothed instead of her.  Isobel sees much more than she wanted to that night.
Lord Conlin de Braose, Baron Sandwich.  As a cinque port Baron he and the others control the fishing and trade that comes ashore.
As a widowed father he has decided his daughter needs a new mother. So he makes an alliance with Laird MacEwen to marry his daughter.
This story has some truly hilarious parts, mainly because of our heroines addiction.  Even when our lovely hero knows he is being played, he can't stop it.  There is something strange happening.  Is there a murderer on the lose?
You will meet some fascinating characters,  some are friends from the first book in the series.  Because of that it would be best to read the books in order to avoid spoilers.
I can't wait to read the next one in the series.



Ian  was a foundling brought up by the MacKeefe  clan.  He has a darkness in him because he has always wondered about who his real family was.  He considers the other two "mad men MacKeefe " like brothers.  A man doesn't make a move on the little sister of his best friend. He did try to find his own family but decided he preferred the clan he grew up in.
Kayla  MacKeefe has followed her brother and his two best friends around since she can remember,  but her feelings for Ian are those of a woman not a pesky little sister.  She is twenty years old now and her brother and his friends still treat her like a child.
This is the third in a series that should really be read in order.  There is lots of danger and adventure in this story.  As it set around Halloween there is a little bit of a spooky feel to it.  Our hero tries his best to be a good man,  but carries a secret that affects everything he does.  Our heroine is a brave an independent woman,  who is fed up with being over protected by the men in her family.
A wonderful box set that covers three sexy Highlanders and their strong women.  I loved every page.  


Elizabeth Rose is the author of medieval, paranormal, fantasy and contemporary novels. While based on romance, her novels have complex plots, action and suspense. She loves writing bad boy tortured heroes and empowered feisty heroines.

Her books have won rave reviews, and been seen on The History Channel as well as Wild Chicago. She has been a Sapphire Award finalist, and been nominated by Romantic Times for a Reviewer’s Choice Award.

She is also a freelance artist and photographer, and has designed and created all her own e-book covers as well as created all her own book trailer videos.

She has several series: The Legacy of the Blade Series, Daughters of the Dagger, Elemental Series, Tarnished Saints Series, Greek Myth Fantasy, and her newest, her Scottish medieval MadMan MacKeefe series.

She hopes to visit the castles of Scotland and England personally some day. However, she has been to the jungles of Peru and Machu Picchu which inspired her novels, Curse of the Condor and Eden’s Garden.

Elizabeth’s trademark is a rose on the cover of each of her books, to let you know it is her work, since there are other authors by the same name. She also ends each novel with the title of the book being the last words of the story.

Visit her website to view her latest book trailers and to read excerpts of her work.

No comments:

Post a Comment

I hope you all enjoy the books I post about here.