ARC Reviews


Highland Spring ( Seasons Of Fortitude #1) by Elizabeth Rose. Historical Romance Release & ARC Review.

Add To

Seasons of Fortitude Series - Book 1 

(This series is about the sisters of the bastard triplets from the Legendary Bastards of the Crown Series. Spring is the sister that was stolen as a baby. It is recommended to read that series first, but not required, as this book stands on its own.) 

Spring has been raised as a warrior, always trying to please her father of Viking descent. Through the years she's tried to be the son he wished her to be. At a young age she's chosen the bow and arrow of a dead man as her weapon, and now she's mastered the skill. Growing up without a mother, the only skill she hasn't mastered is how to be a lady and someday a mother. But now her father decides to marry her off to their enemy, Shaw Gordon, in order to get inside the castle walls. Wanting to be a part of overtaking the castle, she goes along with the plan. 

Shaw Gordon, chieftain and laird, is a widower with two boys and one unruly adolescent daughter. He decides it's time to take a wife again, but never expects to be presented with his enemy's daughter. The woman is fierce, and nothing like the mother he wants for his children. The Gunn clan has been an enemy of the Gordons for as long as he can remember. While an alliance would be good, he doesn't trust them. As he's about to reject the offer, he spots the coveted bow and arrows of his late father in the girl's hands. In order to retrieve it, he does the only thing he can besides fighting - he marries her. 

Can two enemies push aside their differences for the benefit of all? And can a woman draw strength from herself as well as from her new husband when she discovers the horrible secret of her past - that her entire life is nothing but a lie? 

Watch for the other books in the series coming soon: 
Summer's Reign - Book 2, 
Autumn's Touch - Book 3, and 
Winter's Flame - Book 4. 

Also, be sure to read the Legendary Bastards of the Crown Series:
 Destiny's Kiss (Prequel), 
Restless Sea Lord - Book 1, 
Ruthless Knight - Book 2, and
 Reckless Highlander - Book 3.


Magma Spring Gunn is the best archer in her clan,  thanks to the bow she took from a dead Scotsman on burnt candlemas.  She is a trained warrior who has put all her emotions away to please her father. 
Laird Shaw Gordon has been widowed for four years.  He has three growing children and has decided they need a mother.  He is very protective because these are dangerous times. 
Our heroine is incredibly brave but also confused and lonely.  Our hero is suspicious but needs someone in his life. 
This is a wonderful adventure linked to the other series that this author has written.  You can read it on it's own , but I have read lots of the others and I think it's nicer to read in order.  There is lots of danger and intrigue on one side and love and emotion on the other. 
I loved every page. 


Elizabeth Rose is the author of medieval, paranormal, fantasy and contemporary novels. While based on romance, her novels have complex plots, action and suspense. She loves writing bad boy tortured heroes and empowered feisty heroines.

Her books have won rave reviews, and been seen on The History Channel as well as Wild Chicago. She has been a Sapphire Award finalist, and been nominated by Romantic Times for a Reviewer’s Choice Award.

She is also a freelance artist and photographer, and has designed and created all her own e-book covers as well as created all her own book trailer videos.

She has several series: The Legacy of the Blade Series, Daughters of the Dagger, Elemental Series, Tarnished Saints Series, Greek Myth Fantasy, and her newest, her Scottish medieval MadMan MacKeefe series.

She hopes to visit the castles of Scotland and England personally some day. However, she has been to the jungles of Peru and Machu Picchu which inspired her novels, Curse of the Condor and Eden’s Garden.

Elizabeth’s trademark is a rose on the cover of each of her books, to let you know it is her work, since there are other authors by the same name. She also ends each novel with the title of the book being the last words of the story.

Visit her website to view her latest book trailers and to read excerpts of her work.

No comments:

Post a Comment

I hope you all enjoy the books I post about here.