ARC Reviews

29/03/2016

Highland Awakening. (Highland Knights #2) by Jennifer Haymore. ARC Review.


For fans of Maya Banks and Monica McCarty, the Highland Knights series continues as a tight-knit band of Scottish mercenaries make trouble on the mean streets of London . . . and under the sheets with England’s proper young women.

As the secret author of racy romances, Lady Esme Hawkins goes to great lengths to protect her family’s honor. Which is why she carefully disguises herself before entering a notorious bordello to do research. But when Esme comes face-to-face with a brooding Highland bodyguard, she can’t easily refuse a harmless kiss . . . a kiss that inflames desires ripped from the pages of her novels. Acting on them, however, would risk revealing Esme’s identity—and the fact that she’s engaged to another man.

As a Highland Knight sworn to protect the crown, Camden McLeod never expected to follow his client into a bordello—nor could he anticipate meeting a bright, innocent lass with lush lips and eyes the color of the sea. Instantly, Cam knows he must possess her. But to do so, he’ll need to give up his rakish ways, embrace his role as heir to his despised father, and snuff out a deadly threat to his brothers in arms. By comparison, winning Esme away from her insipid fiancé will be pure pleasure.

This historical romance nearly melted my kindle. It is part of a series, but you could easily read it as a stand alone. It does mention others from previous books who have had their HEA so it might spoil those books just a little.
Camden MacLeod is one of the Highland Knights, they work for the crown in whatever way they are told, usually in secret. At the moment they are bodyguards and must sometimes mingle with the ton.  A lot of two faced people he can't stand being around.  Cam is not very well suited to this type of work, he much prefers the action side. 
Lady Esme Hawkins is shy and often clumsy.  Her family have faced a lot of malicious gossip, and Esme always seems to make it worse. If anyone knew about what she does in secret it would shame them more than ever before.
I don't want to tell you too much more of the story because it has lots of twists and turns. There are some scorching hot sex scenes and lots of fun. A strong, brave but a bit dense hero,  and a brave and bold heroine. I loved every page.


USA Today bestselling author Jennifer Haymore is the author of sexy historical and contemporary romance. Her books have been nominated for numerous awards, including five RT Book Reviews Reviewers Choice awards and the prestigious RITA® award for best historical romance.

You can find Jennifer in Southern California trying to talk her husband into yet another trip to England, helping her three children with homework while brainstorming a new five-minute dinner menu, or crouched in a corner of the local bookstore writing her next novel.

You can learn more at:




AMAZON:COM



KOBO LINK

ARC received through 2016netgalleychallenge

No comments:

Post a comment

I hope you all enjoy the books I post about here.